Chapter 1, 2 and 11 “Making Classroom Assessment Work”

Chapter 1- From this chapter I would say that self assessment is highly useful for both the student and the teacher as they “confirm, consolidate, and integrate new knowledge”. As the students self-assess they realize how they learn and what they need to do to monitor their learning, and they also learn how to give themselves descriptive feedback. Positive feedback to forward the students learning is also important and by allowing the students to self-assess and give themselves feedback they are receiving a bigger amount of constructive and useful tips that will help them in their future learning. I think that in order for the students to assess each other we need to set criteria on what they are assessing to make sure that everyone is on the same page.

Chapter 2- From this chapter I realized that I learn best by receiving feedback from my teachers and using the feedback to improve my learning. Descriptive feedback is highly important as students can take the feedback and improve their learning. They find out what is working and what is not and then they can learn how to plan their next steps with their work. One thing that disturbs me is when teachers or professors give you a grade and no feedback of what I could do to improve my grade or what I did well in the assignment. I would not want my students to get an assignment back with no feedback as I would want them to do whatever they can to improve their learning.

Chapter 11- From this chapter I learned that learning is always happening and learning from others allows for us to collaborate our ideas about assessment and share what works best and what needs improvement. By collaborating with others in your subject area you can learn how students want to be assessed and see what is happening in their classroom. Honestly I don’t know if I would refer this chapter to anyone as I didn’t see it relating to anything that I learned about in Chapter 1 and 2, but I do understand that it is important to keep learning and to collaborate with others to do so.

Leave a Reply

