Crochet, Crochet, Crochet

Yesterday Kaely Weir and I began our adventure of beginning to crochet. Thanks to my friend Kacey Moffat who taught me the beginning steps, I began the making of a headband. It was a tough start to get used to the movements and patterns that you need to follow in order to create something but after 2.5 hours I am well into the creation of my headband. I have learned that it is very important to make sure that your product is staying straight as it may start to bend and get twisted along the way. I am happy with my accomplishments of starting to crochet and I hope to be finished this headband in the next couple of weeks. I will then begin another headband or maybe some dish clothes as I seem to be running out here in my apartment. We also used a video from Youtube  to help us remember how to start and we learned our first term “yarn-over” ! This is all so exciting!

Here are a couple of videos that Kaely and I have created of our process in making our headbands:

 

Enjoy! Keep posted for more!

One thought on “Crochet, Crochet, Crochet

  1. Hey Mandy! It looks like you guys have an awesome start. I wish I had the patience to learn to crochet, so good for you! I had one student in my internship who learned to arm crochet using the internet, so instead of needles she used her arms and she made these big beautiful scarves with the technique, it was really neat.
    Did you know you can embed a youtube video right into your blog? It looks really cool and adds a lot of visual appeal, more people will watch it to.
    Wordpress works really well with youtube, so on youtube all you have to do is go to “share” and then click “embed” and then copy and paste the big link they give you right into your post. That way people can play it while staying on your blog!
    Just a suggestion, haha. I look forward to seeing what you make.

Leave a Reply

