The Feeling of Being Missed

So my reading week has gone by way too fast and I haven’t blogged in a while! I have been busy visiting with family back home in Manitoba and I will admit I haven’t been doing a lot of “reading”. But hey who does anyways? Many people go on vacations to hot destinations but I would rather be here on my home farm in Deloraine, MB relaxing with the comfort of my mom and dad in the same house with friends a close phone call away. I miss this! Yesterday I took a short drive to Carnduff, SK to see the students and staff that I had the pleasure of doing my Internship with. Let’s just say I missed them and the school and I am happy to say they missed me as well. As I checked in at the office and walked down the hallway I said ‘Hi’ to the principal and some straggling students getting to class late. I then walked into the classroom where I left my Accounting students and about 10 of them left their seats and ran to the door to give me a hug. I thought to myself “this is what it feels like to make an impression on someone and be missed.” That feeling right there made me feel good. I was happy to realize that I did make an impact on someone and I am in the right profession. I also had the chance to talk one of the other teachers and the coach of the volleyball team that I had the privilege to help with. She is in the process of learning how to crochet as well and I gave her some tips from the project that I am doing for ECMP learning how to crochet. This made me realize that if you take the time to learn something new you can pass on that skill to someone else and help them out along the way of their journey.

Overall I have had a nice, relaxing vacation back home to touch base with the people who have had an impact on me and the people that I have made an impact on. This all feels good and I know that I am on the way to the right career and on the right path in life. I want to say thank you to the people that help me in life and I hope that I can help many people in the future the same way that they have helped me.

Leave a Reply

