Role of Business Education- Is it Important?

Recently I retweeted an article called “Why it’s time to Rethink the Role of Business in Education” and related this to my major of Business Education. Recently the University of Regina is in the process of cutting the program of Business Ed because there is not enough interest and applicants into the program. This is a disappointment as it is sad to see programs that are useful in today’s society of teaching children communication, team building, and problem solving skills be diminished. My question is why are students in high schools not showing interest in these courses? Do they not know enough information about the Business courses in high school or are they ignoring the fact that the skills taught in these classes are useful in today’s society of gaining a job. I loved these real life classes in school as they related what we are doing to our future lives of business skills, finance skills, and entrepreneurship skills.

I think our education system is becoming so academic that in small town schools especially they are missing opportunities to take classes that are considered electives because there is not enough interest in them and students are so involved with taking the right classes to graduate and not focusing on what you want to pursue after you graduate from high school. I think we need to emphasize and advertise about these Business classes and try to promote the program in order to get more students to show interest and be involved in these classes.

This paragraph really stood out for me in the article:

“In 1970, the top three skills required by the Fortune 500 were reading, writing and arithmetic. In 1999, the top three skills in demand were teamwork, problem-solving and interpersonal communication. We need schools to develop these proficiencies in young people, which is why making business leaders an integral part of our education system is crucial.”

I think these skills are so important in the futures of our young students. I was lucky enough to have some of these skills when I came to University but I know that if I didn’t when I got here I would have struggled in my first few years of business classes in University.

Whether our students are being farmers, oil workers, engineers, or educators I think in all of these professions around Saskatchewan these proficiencies are important and will help the students succeed and not turn to failure of not getting a job.

Lastly, I want to say that the reason why I thought this article was really important was because when I looked at Twitter the next day after I tweeted this, I found that my brother, who never uses Twitter and is very new to it, read the article and favourited it. He is an entrepreneur himself and he realizes that those skills are important especially because he never had any post-secondary education when starting his business, but by having those skills and being able to build a relationship with his customers his business is very successful. Even though his business targets farmers, they need those skills to become successful.

My final question is “Do you think that these skills are important for our students to succeed and what are some things that we can do to make these classes available in our schools?

You can read the article using the link at the top of this post. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

